If you read multiple genres and love dark mystery vibes and unexpected plot twists with emotional rollercoasters and bittersweet endings, then I’m delighted to introduce you to Barbara Avon’s books.

I’ve only read a couple that had a paranormal twist because that’s my jam but she so many other books you can choose from and I highly recommend that you check out her books.

Her writing style is unique and engrossing and her prose is beautiful, evocative, affecting, and incredibly absorbing.

About the author

Barbara Avon is a multi-genre author. She has written since she was young, pursuing her dreams and vowing to write for as long as she can. She has worked at several different media publications and will continue to publish novels until “her pen runs dry”. In 2018 she won FACES Magazine’s “Best of Ottawa” award for female Author and Spillwords “Author of the Month”. Her work appears in various anthologies including Steering 23 Publications, “Storytime for Grownups”, and “Beyond the Levee & Other Ghostly Tales”. She believes in paying it forward and you can read about this belief as the theme is given voice in most of her books. Avon lives in Ontario, Canada with her husband, Danny, their tarantula, Betsy, and their houseplant, Romeo.

 

Q.W.E.R.T.Y.: A Haunting

In the tradition of “Twilight Zone”, Q.W.E.R.T.Y. takes you into another dimension. A place where all things are possible. Luke is an author and a widower. His aunt gifts him a Remington typewriter and he soon discovers that everything he types, comes true.

“What if I can bring her back?”

In this novella, that is a cross between time travel and paranormal romance, you’ll read a compelling, poetic tale that follows Luke on a heart-breaking journey – one that will change everything.

I was fascinated with Q.W.E.R.T.Y when it came out and if you want to know why read my review.

A Letter to Claudia

A month after Luke changes the course of his life, he is overtaken by an intense desire to win back the very thing he lost. The ultimate sacrifice has caused him immense pain, but by employing the haunted Remington Typewriter, he sets out to change the future once more – as everything he types, comes true. Set in October 1972, and in the tradition of Twilight Zone, follow Luke as he attempts to win back the love of his life. “A Letter to Claudia” is the sequel to “Qwerty” – a book that readers have called “haunting, visceral, raw, and beautiful.”

 

My review

When I first read Q.W.E.R.T.Y. I didn’t know there would be a sequel so when the author sent me A Letter to Claudia I was surprised and excited to read it. As usual, Barbara Avon does not disappoint—the story is heartbreaking and thought-provoking.

A Letter to Claudia is a beautifully written sequel that reacquaints us with Luke’s sorrow as he slowly loses his mind dealing with the loss of his wife. After changing the inevitable future with a mysteriously magic typewriter, Claudia lives but no longer knows him. And Luke can’t live without her. The story alternates between the imaginary and reality until the end, which was unexpectedly poetic and bittersweet.

Other books by Barbara Avon that I reviewed

Tap the cover to read my review.

 

 

 

 

 

 


Don’t forget to subscribe to receive awesome book recommendations twice a month! I make sure to include at least one FREE book (usually more) in each newsletter.


Summon Fantasy contains affiliate links to products. I might earn a small commission if you chose to purchase any products from the links on this website. Your purchase helps support my work in bringing you book reviews and recommendations.

One Reply to “Self-published Authors Appreciation Week – Barbara Avon”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *