A Deal with the Elf King is an enjoyable read, but not quite what I expected considering the hype, that’s why I rated it 3.5 stars. This one of those books Instagram made me buy because it was all over my feed and I loved the cover.

 

Title: A Deal with the Elf King

Author: Elise Kova

Genre: Fantasy Romance

Publication date: November 06, 2020

Rating: 3.5

Book description

Perfect for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses and Uprooted, this stand-alone, fantasy romance about a human girl and her marriage to the Elf King is impossible to put down!

The elves come for two things: war and wives. In both cases, they come for death.

Three-thousand years ago, humans were hunted by powerful races with wild magic until the treaty was formed. Now, for centuries, the elves have taken a young woman from Luella’s village to be their Human Queen.

To be chosen is seen as a mark of death by the townsfolk. A mark nineteen-year-old Luella is grateful to have escaped as a girl. Instead, she’s dedicated her life to studying herbology and becoming the town’s only healer.

That is, until the Elf King unexpectedly arrives… for her.

Everything Luella had thought she’d known about her life, and herself, was a lie. Taken to a land filled with wild magic, Luella is forced to be the new queen to a cold yet blisteringly handsome Elf King. Once there, she learns about a dying world that only she can save.

The magical land of Midscape pulls on one corner of her heart, her home and people tug on another… but what will truly break her is a passion she never wanted.

My review

I liked the premises of the book, a world where Eldas, the new Elf king needs to find his Human Queen because only her magic can keep both their lands alive. 

Eldas didn’t feel otherworldly to me. I expected his character to be much darker, or at least mischievous.

Luella, on the other hand is a character I liked. She is good and selfless, but she’s also not a pushover. She won’t accept her fate as the other Human Queens have. She seeks answers and does her best to control her fate. She’s a problem solver and I like that.

Two characters forced into a formal marriage for the sake of their kingdoms. Neither wants, but they both place duty above all else. I was expecting the enemy to lovers trope but I was disappointed. They didn’t start out as enemies. She was expected to fear him. She didn’t. He was supposed to be evil, he wasn’t. I mean, he was kind of mean to her, but in a very human way and he throws tantrums like a 5 year-old.

“You will respect me!” Eldas shouts.

“Be someone worthy of respecting first!” I slam the door behind me.”

 

Elise Kova  said “This book was a passion project for me. It was my first book back writing again after being near burn-out. And I started drafting it at the beginning of quarantine in 2020. I wanted to write a world that I could escape into… where everything was wrapped up with a happily ever after at the end. It’s my earnest hope that others can find an escape in the pages of Eldas and Luella.”

The book gets better in the second part, there’s more action and the pace picks up. Overall it was a good story, with an interesting magic system that I wish was explained in more depth. They get the happy ending they never believed was in the cards for them.

 

About the author

Elise Kova is a USA Today bestselling author. In her past lives, she has graduated from an MBA program, lived in Japan for a bit, and worked for a Fortune 500 technology company. However, she finds herself much happier in her current reincarnation as full-time author. When not writing, she can usually be found playing video games, drawing, watching anime, or talking with readers on social media. She’s happy to call Florida her home, but is always looking forward to her next trip.


Don’t forget to subscribe to receive awesome book recommendations!


Summon Fantasy contains affiliate links to products. I might earn a small commission if you chose to purchase any products from the links on this website. Your purchase helps support my work in bringing you book reviews and recommendations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *